[newbie] Is there data-source for monitoring OutputDebugString (aka, akin to...

[newbie] Is there data-source for monitoring OutputDebugString (aka,...
Author
smallscript
New Member (19 reputation)New Member (19 reputation)New Member (19 reputation)New Member (19 reputation)New Member (19 reputation)New Member (19 reputation)New Member (19 reputation)New Member (19 reputation)New Member (19 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
I am a newbie exploring its potential for work we do with various data source; the possibilities for LogViewPlus are quite interesting. So here is another in my possible applications for unifying our data sources into a viewing tool.

Is there a LogViewPlus data-source-provider available for "OutputDebugString"; windows stdbug/debug channel?

Monitor debug output on your local system, or any computer on the network that you can reach via TCP/IP.

I.e., having that would enable LogViewPlus to replace usage of either of these (stdbug viewer/consumer tools):
- https://github.com/CobaltFusion/DebugViewPP.
  - code has great discussion of how to obtain/monitor the stdbug channel
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/downloads/debugview.

Thanks again for a well thought out website and log-tool offering!
p.s., I could envision a provider-data-source that would actually hook OutputDebugString and expose it as a (localhost) SysLog or UDP socket. Given the use of .NET a "Trace Listener" might also be an approach.
Edited 3 Years Ago by LogViewPlus Support
LogViewPlus Support
LogViewPlus Support
Prestige User (3.9K reputation)Prestige User (3.9K reputation)Prestige User (3.9K reputation)Prestige User (3.9K reputation)Prestige User (3.9K reputation)Prestige User (3.9K reputation)Prestige User (3.9K reputation)Prestige User (3.9K reputation)Prestige User (3.9K reputation)
Group: Moderators