Extremely slow performance on everything

Author
Bird
New Member (18 reputation)New Member (18 reputation)New Member (18 reputation)New Member (18 reputation)New Member (18 reputation)New Member (18 reputation)New Member (18 reputation)New Member (18 reputation)New Member (18 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
I have been using logviewplus for a couple of years, but I'm very dissatisfied with the product.

Here are some timings I took. These were taken after I had been using the app for a few hours, the folder had 30 log files, totaling 155MB. The operations below are on a 116kb log file (1408 records):
Searching for a string: 15 seconds
Returning to the unfiltered view for the same log file: 5.5 seconds
Warn filter: 5.5 seconds

Initializing UI: 5.5 seconds
Opening a work space with 3 116kb files: 4 seconds

I expect all of the above operations to be done within 500 milliseconds. Are you going to take performance seriously at some point or should I look for alternative software?

LogViewPlus Support
LogViewPlus Support
Supreme Being (6.1K reputation)Supreme Being (6.1K reputation)Supreme Being (6.1K reputation)Supreme Being (6.1K reputation)Supreme Being (6.1K reputation)Supreme Being (6.1K reputation)Supreme Being (6.1K reputation)Supreme Being (6.1K reputation)Supreme Being (6.1K reputation)
Group: Moderators
Hi Bird,

Thanks for the feedback. 

We regularly performance test LogViewPlus.  Your experience is unusual and it is not clear where the issue might be.  Can you give me any more details about your machine setup?  How much memory do you have available?  Do the target log files exist locally? 

LogViewPlus loads a parsed version of your log file into memory.  This does take some time.  For example, I would expect a 1 GB log file to load in about 30 seconds.  A 100 KB file should load in less than one second.